top of page
  • Writer's pictureMel Mase

How Death Caused Me To Live

Death is not an easy topic to talk about at the best of times, but it is undeniably something that permeates our everyday life in some way or another.




 

If anyone has experienced a death of a loved one then my condolences go out to you. It is not an easy thing to process and it can be very hard to move on from. I know this is exactly how I felt when someone that I knew passed. The fact that this person was younger than me also bothered me and made me seriously take stock of my own life.


This was a fairly recent event so I feel like I am only at the beginning of the grieving process. It still doesn’t seem real, even though there was a funeral and the chance to say goodbye.



Going forward, I really realised how much I want to live my life to the fullest, and all of the other clichés that are relevant to this topic. The death of a friend stoked a fire in me that I didn’t know was possible.


I really wanted to take this opportunity to encourage anyone out there that may need to hear this. I am not a bereavement counsellor and I am not qualified to give advice, but I know first-hand what it’s like to feel lost after death. I fully appreciate that everyone reacts in a way that is unique to them and that is normal, but if I can help at least one person in the tiniest way, then that would be amazing. Please do seek professional help and support if you feel you need it, but remember that no matter how dark things may look, there is hope after death.


This whole experience has helped me to be more focused and driven by my God-given purpose. I find writing very therapeutic and love writing for children so that they can feel good about themselves. My latest book, The Young Black Princess, has brought such a smile to so many faces that it makes me realise that the people we impact while we are alive makes living so much more worthwhile. My friend left a positive impact on everyone they came into contact with, and I hope that we can all do the same.


As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.






Stay blessed and be hopeful. Life is for living.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page