top of page
  • Writer's pictureMel Mase

2024 Ultimate Holiday Destinations: Must-Visit Hotspots for an Unforgettable Adventure this Year

Most people enjoy travel and the exciting experiences and adventures that go along with it. With a plethora of new and exotic foods, weather conditions that warm you from the inside out and sights and smells that literally assault your senses in the best way possible, going on holiday can be absolutely incredible. Even a ‘Staycation’ can provide a well needed change of scenery and offer you encounters that you wouldn’t get at home, so read on to discover what countries and places you could visit and explore during 2024!


 

Hong Kong 🇭🇰


Hong Kong to me is a cross between London and New York. The skyline is amazing and breathtaking and is visible from the famous runway that extends into the water. The food is incredible and nothing like the Chinese food I have eaten in the UK. My absolute favourite was the Crossbridge Rice Noodle Soup which came out to you as a boiling bowl of broth and oil. All of the vegetables, chicken or other choice of meats as well as a raw egg are brought out separately. You add what you want into the bowl, putting the egg in first to poach, and the whole meal comes together in a delicious and totally unforgettable way. On the side there are options to add spice with some chilli oil. This was a flavour sensation like no other and the freshness of everything was simply stunning. I was cheeky enough to try a McDonalds in Hong Kong too and I have to say, hands down, it was the best McDonald’s I have ever tasted. Definitely worth the visit and the long haul flight!



 

Kunming, Guangzhou - China 🇨🇳


The contrast between China and Hong Kong are evident as soon as you cross the border. Some of the villages that we visited in Kunming felt like we had stepped back in time. The level of history in these places was sobering and I am glad I got to see them first hand. We traveled on a sleeper train, which was a whole new experience for me, and had to adjust to the hole in the ground as a toilet. Definitely something to be aware of if you have never come across it before as it can be quite a culture shock.



 

Seoul - South Korea 🇰🇷


The people of South Korea all looked like they should be on a catwalk and the level of cleanliness was impeccable as the streets were absolutely spotless. With a church practically on every street corner and a level of humility that you rarely see from a nation, Seoul, the capital city of South Korea, was a beautiful place to be. I had my own mini bush tucker trial when I was offered salted cocoon. In respect to the locals, I tried it, but I was unable to swallow it much to their obvious amusement. Thankfully they were touched that I was willing to give it go. I would 100% recommend visiting South Korea if you are able and if you love fashion, it’s definitely the place to shop!



 

Karachi - Pakistan 🇵🇰


Having visited Pakistan and seeing its beauty, I am so privileged that I was able to go. If you are ever planning to visit this part of the world I would encourage you to do your research and visit the government website and other sites like TripAdvisor to check before you book and travel. My favourite thing was a Fallooda - a drink full of sweets and other treats. I also found having chapati and lentils for breakfast a complete taste sensation for the tongue. It is very green in Karachi and the city was busy and vibrant with different colours and smells.


 

Amsterdam, Rotterdam - Netherlands 🇳🇱


Going against the grain I have to say that I preferred Rotterdam over Amsterdam. It was an amazing experience seeing this famous city but I absolutely loved the quirkiness and quietness of Rotterdam. The buildings and general architecture were unique and there was a lot of sights to see.



 

Malaga, Benidorm - Spain 🇪🇸


My time in Malaga was simply incredible. It involved a lot of meat as BBQ’s are a hot favourite. The weather was consistently sunny and very warm and the beaches were stunning. Mainland Spain compared to the islands of Malaga and Majorca was starkly different, predominantly because the island vibes are so chilled and laid back and the mainland was a hustle and bustle of activities and tourists. Would highly recommended visiting this part of the world, and I would urge you to go for a traditional paella while you are there. You won’t be disappointed.



 

Zakinthos - Greece 🇬🇷


I love Zakinthos. You can get round the whole island in less than a day and the best way to travel is on mopeds. The food was fresh and tasted incredible and the hospitality was such that the locals treated you like an extension of their own family. Lots of olive oil split with vinegar and pitta bread makes for a delicious starter in every restaurant. Well worth the visit!



 

Paris - France 🇫🇷


We visited Disney World, Paris, which of course is not as big as Florida, but perfect if you want a taste of the Disney experience. Ideal for young children especially, but there is definitely something to do for the whole family. With iconic restaurants and spectacular parades, there is plenty to explore and enjoy.



 

Geneva, Lausanne - Switzerland 🇨🇭


Visiting Geneva was good for the soul. There is such a stillness, especially when you are near the famous Lake Geneva. My personal highlight, and there are many, was drinking water straight from a mountain outside of our accommodation. I have never tasted water so pure and breathing fresh, clean air was the very first thing my travel companion and I noticed when we stepped out of the airport onto Swiss soil. The quality of life in Switzerland is clearly unique and if you get the opportunity to visit you may never want to leave.



 

Stockholm - Sweden 🇸🇪


I ended up visiting this infamous city on multiple occasions for work, so having an all expenses paid trip definitely sweetened the experience, but I was glad I was so privileged to see this little corner of the world. The Swedes love their cuisine and I honestly have to say that this is the place where fine dining was done with total class and elegance. Please add this to your travel list as it may not be an obvious choice for everyone, but it is well worth the visit.



 

Florida, New Jersey, New York - United States of America 🇺🇸


There is so much to see and do in America but I have only seen a very small part of it. Florida, notably Disney World, was by far the best destination for me. I was never bored as there was so much to do and I absolutely loved the tropical weather. I traveled with my family, which just made the whole experience a lot more fun. The Magic Kingdom, Typhoon Lagoon and Epcot are just a few of the parks with something for everyone! Watching the parade of Disney characters and going down a huge water slide on a massive inflatable were definitely two highlights of many that I will remember forever.


New York is very different to Florida, but it completely lived up to all expectations and fully embraces its identity as the city that never sleeps. I loved visiting Times Square and travelling on the Subway. It was a true experience.


I traveled from New York to New Jersey as they're not that far from each other, but there is quite a stark difference between the two. Just to highlight this point, I walked down a whole street in New Jersey for over 45 minutes and did not see one human being besides myself, compared to New York where you can barely move for people. Well worth the visit to New Jersey though, if you’re someone who likes to be somewhere tranquil and with more peaceful surroundings.



 

Falmouth, Montego Bay - Jamaica 🇯🇲


As I am half Jamaican, it makes sense that I would visit the island of my heritage so I may be slightly biased in saying that Jamaica is absolutely beautiful. The palm trees, the beaches, the sun, sea and fresh food all capture you and enable you to relax as soon as you leave the airport. We practically lived off the jerk chicken, curry goat and rice and peas and loved visiting the sites which included waterfalls and boat rides. I would encourage everyone to visit more than once as the chilled vibes are addictive!!



 

Lake District, Yorkshire, Hastings, Milton Keynes - UK 🇬🇧


As far as Staycations go, this has certainly increased in popularity since Covid. England and the UK in general is known for being very green, so there are plenty of places to visit that may be very close to your doorstep.


Milton Keynes is famous for its Shopping Centre and for its grid-like geography, inspired by the U.S. There are beautiful lakes and lots of space to explore. A hive of activity you can do anything from indoor skiing to visiting an adventure park. The hotels we have frequented have not disappointed and only added to the whole experience.


We recently stayed in Yorkshire, hiring a house (see my TikTok video for the guided tour) and it was lovely and quiet. The whole trip was delightful and the locals were very friendly and welcoming.


My absolute favourite place in the UK has to be the Lake District because the views were breathtaking. I also loved how peaceful and serene the landscape was. It was refreshing for the mind, body and soul. Well worth the visit if you have never been and very reasonably priced.





7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page